Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 

         

123 Street Avenue, City Town, 99999

(123) 555-6789

email@address.com

 

You can set your address, phone number, email and site description in the settings tab.
Link to read me page with more information.

13907160_607063189462235_4102192220704105635_n.jpg

The Open Book

Filtering by Tag: author

C.W Tickner, author of "Humanarium"

Stephen H. Provost

C.W Tickner is a UK author and Terry Pratchett fan who's here to talk about his Humanarium trilogy., which is available on Amazon and Kindle Unlimited.

author image.jpg

THE AUTHOR

Where and with whom do you live? Cambridge, UK. Fiance and the spirits of past pets. 

If you could co-write a book with any author, living or dead, whom would you choose? Terry Pratchett. The things he could inject into my story would have me in stitches.

Why do you write? Because no one had written the book I wanted to read. (I did look.)

Where do you write? Sitting on a bed. Comfy, and with the ability to switch positions as aches dictate.

What imaginary land would you choose as your home, and why? Any form of interplanetary vessel. Endless possibilities on where to go, where to eat and who or what to meet and discover. Space gypsy.

What animal, real or imaginary, would you choose as your constant companion? A pocket-sized dragon, preferably orange in colour. But i’m not fussy.

Your superhero alter-ego: T-Man: Able to produce excellent cups of tea that wow strangers and colleagues but burn the skin of any who oppose me.

Historical period you’d like to visit: Feudal Japan.

Favorite board, card or video game: Dungeons & Dragons, in any form.

This is one of the best books I’ve read in years. I highly recommend this to any Sci-fi fans! The characters are believable and the story is well written. The world is unique and amazing!
— Zarabeth Langer, Amazon review
cover!.jpg

THE BOOK

Title, genre and length? The Humanarium, science fiction, 177,000 words.

When and where does it take place? In the future and on another planet, inhabited by giant aliens.

How did you come up with the title? It’s a play on words; Humans and Terrarium. A place to keep humans.

What inspired you to write it? I was cleaning out my fish tank one day and the thought occurred to me that I was in some way a god to the fish inside. (no god complex, honest). I realised that if I did not feed them or provide them with a landscape and companions, they would suffer as a consequence. I wondered how it would be if the roles were reversed and humans were on the inside. I figured I could swap “Fish” for “Aliens” and hey presto, a bizarre world was born in which humanity lives inside a fish tank.

Is there a sequel in the works? The trilogy is out already and a fourth on its way.         

Where, how can you get it? Amazon store and in Kindle Unlimited.

Describe your book in one word that most people don’t normally use. Fantastical. 

Who would want to ban it? Anyone with a phobia of giants or the premise that the “god” one might worship is in fact another creature with a greater intellect.

To whom did you dedicate it and why? To my editor. He puts up with a lot.

I very much enjoyed this book!! I’ve been reading Science Fiction since I was about 10 yrs old (56 now), have read all the Masters and hundreds of other authors. I have to say this book is completely different than anything I have ever read before. It was so nice to be able to read a story that makes you think on it for quite a while afterward.
— Tracy B. Smith, Amazon review
uthor image 2.jpg

THE HERO

Name, age and occupation: Harl Eriksson, early twenties, blacksmith.

Where and with whom does he live? Alone, on the outskirts of town, beside the “Wall” at the edge of the world.

Who would play your protagonist in a movie? Adam Driver (Kylo Ren).

What’s his celebrity crush? Anyone with blonde or red hair. He has never seen such a thing, having grown up in a tank with black-haired people only.

What’s his biggest fear/phobia? Fear of being “Lifted” by the titanic hand that enters the tank and steals people from the world.

Weapon of choice: The people around him.

At the beginning of the book ... our hero is a simple blacksmith, by the end he must free humanity and fight for “Human Rights”  

Worst habit? Demanding instant vengeance.

Best feature? A quick learner and being able to accept the world for more than what it “appears.”

Tickner’s ‘The Huminarium’ is a gripping tale. It not only makes us question what it would be like to be stuck in a Terrarium style world but whether we already are in such a place. The themes of disobedience, curiosity and escape from the gods’ wrath make for a compelling read from start to finish. ... For fans of Sci-fi, ‘The Huminarium’ is thought-provoking, exciting and a damn good read. I loved it!
— Aaron Leyshon, Amazon review
Email Banner.jpg

Shane Lindemoen, author of "Breathless"

Stephen H. Provost

Shane Lindemoen works as a private investigator. But now it's our turn to investigate approach to writing and his science fiction-horror release, Breathless.

THE AUTHOR

Name, age and occupation: Shane Lindemoen, 34, private investigator.

Where and with whom do you live? I live in the Midwest with my wife and son and our cat.

If you could co-write a book with any author, living or dead, whom would you choose? Living: first name that popped into my head was Autumn Christian, because I just recently discovered her stuff and it’s achingly phenomenal and weird. But there are so many to list. Dead: Ursala K Leguin, because she was an absolute titan.

Why do you write? I write to share a million ideas and a thousand dreams with people for the purpose of collectively examining questions about the human condition. And it’s great fun, too.

What imaginary land would you choose as your home, and why? Neverland. Endless adventure. You never age. Mermaids, magic, pixies, pirates and unassisted flight. When I die, that’s where I’d like to go.

What fairy tale describes your life, and why? Little Red Riding Hood, but instead of the woodsman, I cut myself out of that wolf’s stomach. I crawled out of it and met my wife, and we lived happily ever after.

Historical period you’d like to visit: All periods seem pretty dark and terrifying. If the optimist’s future counts – the future of progress, the future of Star Trek – that’s where I’d like to go. Forward. Always forward.

Shane Lindemoen has a knack for the spectacular, and his deftly plotted debut is like Bradbury’s The Martian Chronicles run through the sieve of Kubrick’s 2001, reshot by Christopher Nolan in the year 2020.
— Davis Schneiderman, author of Drain and the DEAD/BOOKS trilogy
BREATHLESS.png

THE BOOK

Title, genre and length? BREATHLESS. Sci-fi-horror. 145K words.

When and where does it take place? Sometime in the near future, after humanity has created near-sentient artificial intelligence and achieved life in space, but before interstellar travel. The story itself takes place in deep space, near the planet Saturn.

How did you come up with the title? An acquaintance named Miguel Santana da Silva actually suggested the title. I loved how it sounded and it’s relevant, so it stuck.

What inspired you to write it? Two of my favorite movies are Aliens and Predator. I just love the sci-fi-horror genre, and I always wanted to try my hand in it. So this is my Aliens, my Predator: an homage to that particular blend of genres. Which mainly sprouted out of this idea of vertigo – this conflict we all have within ourselves between the fear of falling and the desire to fall. So that concept in addition to a bunch of other concepts just sort of came together.

Is there a sequel in the works? No sequel for now. At one point I actually signed a contract with a publisher for this yarn, and because I wasn’t comfortable turning it into a series, the contract was ultimately made solvent, which was devastating. That’s primarily why I’m doing this Inkshares thing.          

Where, how can you get it? The complete first chapter is available to read for free on Inkshares. If the project reaches a critical mass of followers, I’d open it up for preorders. If it gets seven-hundred preorders, Inkshares or one of its imprints will offer a publishing deal. There’s also another independent publisher reviewing it now, so we’ll see. It could eventually be everywhere, or it could be nowhere forever. Fingers crossed.

Describe your book in one word that most people don’t normally use. Eigengrau. 

What would you select as your book’s theme song? Who would you choose to write the musical score? A Blessing, by Max Richter.

What’s your most interesting chapter title? Eigengrau.

Who would want to ban it? That’s a good question. It’s not political or religious in any way, so I have no idea. I suppose the Old Gods, because this yarn will surely disturb their eonic slumber. 

To whom did you dedicate it and why? I will dedicate it to my wife and boy, for making me feel important and relevant. 

Insanely imaginative and thought-provoking. Artifact delivers a mind-bending high, in which nothing is what it seems and everything is exactly what it appears to be.
— Mark Budz, author of Clade, Idolon and Till Human Voices Wake Us, on Lindemoen's 2013 release, Artifact

THE HERO

Name, age and occupation: Evelyn Fenroe, who goes from twenty-seven to forty-years-old over the course of the story. She is an astronaut, and a commanding officer within the agency that employs her.

Where and with whom does she live? She lives in the vacuum of space – in constant transit between Earth and Saturn aboard an artificially intelligent ship, with her eight crew members.

Who would play your protagonist in a movie? Hillary Swank or Mireille Enos.

What real-life person would be your protagonist’s hero, mentor or role model? Neil Armstrong. Valentina Tereshkova.

What’s her celebrity crush? She’s pop-culture illiterate; a career astronaut who never had time to crush on celebrities.

What’s her biggest fear/phobia? Losing a single member of her crew, because she loves them all with every piece of her heart.

On what TV show would she appear as a special guest? All of them, for being the first woman to set foot on Saturn’s largest moon, Titan. She’d be in the history books, and everyone would want to hear her story.

What’s his/her favorite quote or motto? “Was it so hard, Achilles, so very hard to die? Thou knowest, and I know not; so much the happier am I.”  - Patrick Shaw-Stewart

Weapon of choice: an industrial plasma-cutter, used for welding rivets on the hull of her ship. Can also cut through all manner of bone and soft-tissue. . . very useful in deep space.

At the beginning of the book, our hero is … running for her life.

Worst habit? Making herself responsible for all the bad things that happen in her life.

Best feature? Her iron will.

Always one step ahead of the reader, Lindemoen never loses control of this tight, action-filled plot. It’ll leave you guessing, and wondering what you’ve just witnessed. You’ll be blown away, too.
— David Wellington, author of Chimera, on Artifact